top of page

Blog! Blog! Blog!

  • studentinvolvement1

Don’t Forget to Vote (again) on April 2nd, 2019

Posted on October 29, 2019

This is a historic election!

As you may already know, former prosecutor Lori Lightfoot and Cook County Board President, Toni Preckwinkle are the two candidates who advanced to the run-off elections and are vying to be the next Mayor of Chicago. As a reminder, run-off elections are only necessary when none of the candidates receive 50 percent plus one vote.

A lot of attention has been placed on this historic election. However, it is important to know that there are other races on the ballot for the April 2nd, Runoff election.

City Treasurer’s Race: For the first time since 1999, there is a contested City Treasurer’s Race. In the first round of the elections, there were three candidates for City Treasurer: State Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin, Alderman Ameya Pawar and Peter Gariepy. The two candidates that advanced to the run-off election are:

State Representative Melissa Conyears-Ervin Alderman Ameya Pawar

Before you head to the polls, make sure you do some research on both candidates and what they would like to do as the next City Treasurer. This is going to be a very close race and is probably the one with the least amount of attention.

15 Aldermanic Run-Off Elections: There are 10 incumbent aldermen who have been forced into run-off elections and there are 4 wards that have open Aldermanic seats (including the 25th Ward which includes the majority of the UIC Campus).

If you want to find out which ward you live in, then go to

You can early vote! Here is more information about where to early vote:

Below is a list of all the wards and aldermanic candidates for alderman in the upcoming run-off election:

5th Ward –

Leslie Hairston (Incumbent) William Calloway

6th Ward – Roderick Sawyer (Incumbent) Deborah Foster-Bonner

*Note for those who say your vote doesn’t count, Alderman Sawyer could’ve avoided the run-off election if had earned 4 more votes.

15th Ward – Raymond Lopez (Incumbent) Rafael Yanez

16th Ward – Stephanie Coleman Toni Foulkes (Incumbent)

20th Ward – Jeannette B. Taylor Nicole Johnson 21st Ward Howard Brookins (Incumbent) Marvin McNeil

25th Ward (Includes the UIC Campus) Byron Sigcho-Lopez Alex Acevedo

30th Ward Raymond Lopez (Incumbent) Jessica Gutierrez

31st Ward Milly Santiago (Incumbent) Felix Cardona

33rd Ward Rossana Sanchez-Rodriguez Deborah Mell (Incumbent)

39th Ward Samantha “Sam” Nugent Robert Murphy

40th Ward Patrick O’Connor (Incumbent) Andre Vasquez

43rd Ward Michele Smith (Incumbent) Derek Lindblom

46th Ward James Cappleman (Incumbent) Marianne Lalonde

47th Ward Matt Martin Martin Negron

1 view


bottom of page